CELESTIAL FOREPLAY

I  stifle another yawn of disinterest
My host’s droning voice, i begin to detest
Eyes flitting restlessly in hope of distraction
From the corner of my eye, i notice a similar action
Quick empty smile at prattling host
Then i try to rediscover my action’s ghost…

With a shock, our eyes make contact
I disguise a startled gasp with a coughing act
Across the crowded room, his gaze pierces me
My heart skipping wildly, i think, it cannot be!
Even over the hum of ceremony, i feel it
That searing burn, that familiar heat…

Girding my heart in steel, i turn to glare
To meet his cool regard, beneath tightly curled hair
In practiced action, he moves with sensous grace
Causing my eyes to widen and my heart to miss a pace
Transfixed as stone, i watch him reach my side
Grabbing me by the waist, his lips barely brush mine…

Favoring my loquacious partner with a glare
He causes the old bore to instantly disappear
Leaning close, he whispers in my ear
‘One more decade of our separation, i will not bear!’
With that, he entwines his fingers in my tresses
Eyes dancing in anticipation of another of our merry chases…

To an accompaniment of screams, he unfurls his glorious wings
And as i, smiling, turn to flee, we disappear before the puny beings….

About feminemdapest

I love words and how beautifully they can be woven. I have a wicked sense of humor and a mind like a sponge, so little gets past me. As a result, I have a garbage heap of a head. Did I mention I love words?
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

