NOSTALGIA

It’s amazing what kind of associations our minds knit together. Those smells and sounds that bring up memories we’ve stored deep down. This morning I had a pleasant one.
When I was a lot younger, and less weird, I used to enjoy car rides immensely. I still enjoy them, but now the experience is absolutely refreshing when I’m in a bus/vehicle full of strangers. Just imagine it. An opportunity to be totally anti-social, if I please. Talking to no one… Just listening to music, reading a good novel(while listening to music), watching the passing scenery (plus music) or writing/chatting on my phone (er..also while listening to music lol). Absolute bliss. I’m a notorious ‘travelling-loner’. I mind my business like kilode.

I digress.

Associations. Yes. My dad was/still is a wonderful driver, and my only concern during those ‘rides of yore’ was happily beaming out the window, and occasionally waving at strangers to confuse them. My memory isn’t exactly the best, but I think it was the Sunday rides that I remembered today. On our way home, my dad would occasionally stop to buy roadside akara (fried beancakes, for the benefit of the oyibos, ajebos and ajebo-wannabes reading this 😛 ). The distinctive delicious smell of the frying akara would waft into the car as the dealer would wrap up the hot, fragrant balls in old, clean newspaper before handing them to my dad.
And there’s the association. Till date, whenever I catch that distinctive scent of new newspaper,  I remember hot akara and long pleasant car rides with my dad. Yes, it also means that almost whenever I walk past a newspaper vendor or stand, I begin to smile foolishly.

🙂  Foolish smiles feel nice.

About feminemdapest

I love words and how beautifully they can be woven. I have a wicked sense of humor and a mind like a sponge, so little gets past me. As a result, I have a garbage heap of a head. Did I mention I love words?
This entry was posted in Musing Out Loud. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

