SEASON OF IMAGINATION

See how the morning mist wetly races
All grows reverent in Nature’s priestly surplice
Everyday objects beclothed in fantastic aspect
Scurrying shapes within and afar become suspect

Take a deep breath of that weightless heaviness
Tread along paths bare-lit by daylight’s evidence
Dusty swirls of light punch through..dim headlights
Morbid sparks of tales most macabre, ignite

Others surge past, emerging from unknown misty corners
Deep in reflection, pay passing notice to their hairlines
And languidly swipe at brows, aged at season’s whim
Only to again feel wet settling, that delicious clinging film

Eyes beclouded, gaze deep into what Mystery left behind
Insubstantial as thought, yet heavy on my mind
Brimming over with ideas birthed.in elemental ecstasy
I stare up fearlessly into the heated disc I barely see….

P.S. Need I say my fave season, the harmattan, inspired this? I think not. To the seeing of many more…. 🙂

About feminemdapest

I love words and how beautifully they can be woven. I have a wicked sense of humor and a mind like a sponge, so little gets past me. As a result, I have a garbage heap of a head. Did I mention I love words?
This entry was posted in Harmattan Tales, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

