Fright Flight

FRIGHT FLIGHT

April 12, 2020

Dr. ****************
The Director, STRANGE (Secret Research and Archives of Nigerian Extranormals)
STRANGE Headquarters,
*************** Lagos.
Ref. No. : STR 687513/LAG/644

TAGGED: CONFIDENTIAL

Re:Retrieved email from account of the mother of still-missing subject: Helen Bruce

24/12/2017
__–__–

Mum, I’m scared. I don’t even know if you’ll get this message. How can I explain what’s happening when I don’t even understand it? How?! I suppose I should start at the beginning…

You know I’ve never really liked kids. So you shouldn’t be surprised that when I got on the flight back home for the holidays, I was annoyed to discover my seatmate had a baby. That’s how the day started, and it all went downhill from there.

There were other kids on this flight, screeching and being a nuisance. Who flies with kids on the evening of Christmas Eve?! I had a headache and my seatmate’s baby just kept crying…. Jesus, mum, I could barely stand it. I tried to change seats, but the plane was full. So I just put in my ear plugs, and napped.

I woke up with my head pounding. Beside me, my seatmate was suckling her baby; she didn’t even cover his noisy mouth with a shawl! I leaned closer to ask her to and then I saw the baby’s reflection in the darkened window’s glass.

Oh Jesus, mum, he had no face. Just a round mouth lined with a row of sharp needles. His sucking was so loud. I could see the breast flesh pulled taut around his…. maw.

I got out of that chair so fast, I almost tripped. And then, I did trip over something on the floor. It was a person, mum. But… the person looked like a deflated balloon, and I realized my heel had sunk into the boneless mess. When I pulled my shoe free, the body made a sloshing sound. Like a bag of… of… sachet water.

I ran down the aisle, gagging. And people were like that all over the plane. They were all just boneless flesh bags, lying everywhere. Except for the children. They were alive. And they stared as I ran past.

I’m in the cockpit now. Both pilots are dead. But the plane is flying itself…
I’m sorry mum. I don’t think I will be home for Christmas this year…

__–__–

*****************************************************************************
STATUS: UNSOLVED

About feminemdapest

I love words and how beautifully they can be woven. I have a wicked sense of humor and a mind like a sponge, so little gets past me. As a result, I have a garbage heap of a head. Did I mention I love words?
This entry was posted in Fiction, MACABRE, Speculative. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

