Quit Notice

Amaka’s rent was expiring the next day, but she didn’t mind.

Living in a ‘face-me-i-face-you’ apartment for one year could have been a hellish experience, but it had gone well. She had met a few good people, like her neighbour, Mummy Ebun.

“Amaka, we go really  miss you for this compound, you carry better luck come.” The woman sighed, bent over as she plaited her sleeping daughter’s hair. Amaka didn’t think she could ever get tired of watching the neat rows formed out of the unruly black bush the girl had been blessed with. The toddler squirmed on the mat and the woman made a soothing sound, arranging the wrapper covering the girl’s legs to keep biting sandflies away.

Amaka smiled as she watched them.

“Since you come, my market good; people just dey rush my stockfish.” Mummy Ebun’s hands danced, an artist, her stubby fingers making magic out of hairy chaos. “Brother Matthew buy another motorcycle and Aunty Stella finally born pikin. This year really make sense. Wetin remain na make my son get that scholarship.”

Amaka shook her head in regret, “I go miss una too but I need to go back house. My papa send letter.”

“Ehya!” the woman sat up, “Hail am for me o.”

Amaka swallowed a chuckle and nodded a yes, remembering the letter’s contents. Her mandatory one year of service on earth was finished. It was time to return to heaven.. but she had a scholarship dream to make come true first.

She couldn’t wait to hail her father for Mummy Ebun.

About feminemdapest

I love words and how beautifully they can be woven. I have a wicked sense of humor and a mind like a sponge, so little gets past me. As a result, I have a garbage heap of a head. Did I mention I love words?
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Speculative and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

